About Southern Province

About Southern Province Claim

0 / 5

About Southern

The Southern Province (Sinhala: Dakunu Palata, Tamil: Thaen Maakaanam) of Sri Lanka is small geographic erea consisting of the districts of Galle, Matara and Hambantota.


Administrative Divisions of Southern Province
District Capital Area Population
Galle District Galle 1,652 km2 (638 sq mi) 1,075,000
Hambantota District Hambantota 2,609 km2 (1,007 sq mi) 596,617
Matara District Matara 1,283 km2 (495 sq mi) 831,000



Southern Province
දකුණු පළාත
தென் மாகாணம்
Location within Sri Lanka
Coordinates: 6°10′N 80°45′ECoordinates6°10′N 80°45′E
Country Sri Lanka
Created 1833
Admitted 14 November 1987
Capital Galle
Largest City Galle
 • Governor Marshal Perera
 • Chief Minister Shan Wijayalal De Silva
 • Total 5,444 km2 (2,102 sq mi)
Area rank 7th (8.46% of total area)
Population (2011 census)
 • Total 2,464,732[1]
 • Rank 3rd (12.18% of total pop.)
Gross Regional Product (2010)[2]
 • Total Rs 492 billion
 • Rank 3rd (10.2% of total)
Time zone Sri Lanka (UTC+05:30)
ISO 3166 code LK-3
Vehicle registration SP
Official Languages SinhaleseTamil




Choose Page Layout
Header Position
Submenu Style